Kálmán Oláh Quartet

Opus Jazz Club
  • Kálmán Oláh - piano
  • Kálmán Oláh Jr. - saxophone
  • József Barcza Horváth - double bass
  • Elemér Balázs - drums

Kálmán Oláh, recognized with the Liszt Prize and Szabó Gábor Lifetime Achievement Award, has for years been passionately looking for new forms of music expression. Not only as a performer, but also as a composer, he is a leading artist of jazz, who has received among others the major prize of the Thelonious Monk Jazz Composers Competition in 2006, for his composition Always.

In his trio the pianist is backed by two of his long-time fellow musicians, Elemér Balázs and József Barcza Horváth. The sophisticated play and amazing consistency of the threesome are the guarantee for modern, exciting compositions and inspiring improvisations. For this special concert, saxophonist Kálmán Oláh Jr. joins them rounding up the group to a quartet. The young saxophonist first walked in the footsteps of his father, studying piano, and only later, at the age of 13, he began to play the saxophone. He has given many concerts with his own quartet, his father and also with his brother, pianist Krisztián Oláh, whom with he played at the Eurojazz festival in Mexico City this spring. He is currently studying at the Ferenc Liszt Academy of Music as pupil of Mihály Borbély and István Elek.

Tickets are available for 1500 HUF on the spot,
online at, and at InterTicket Jegypont partners across Hungary.

Please don't forget to reserve a table after purchasing your ticket, as seating at Opus Jazz Club can only be guaranteed in this case.

We hold reservations until 8pm. Remaining tables are assigned on a first-come, first-served basis.

For reservations, please call +36 1 216 7894 and have your ticket or voucher at hand.


2018 January 17 Wednesday